Management Group

CSC Management Group members 1.1.2023 onwards.

Kimmo Koski

(b. 1964) PhD (Tech.), CSC Managing Director since 2004
+358 9 457 2293

Koski has previously worked in managerial positions at Nokia and in managerial and specialist roles at CSC. He has also worked at the European Organisation for Nuclear Research (CERN) in Switzerland.

Key concurrent positions of trust: Coordinator in the EuroHPC LUMI -consortium and Deputy member of the Board in Technology Industries of Finland

Tiina Kupila-Rantala

(b. 1963) PhD, MBA, Vice Managing Director of CSC since 2011
+358 9 457 2064

Kupila-Rantala joined CSC in 1996. In 2001, she was Project Manager at Nokia Networks. Before joining CSC, she worked as a research assistant in University of Helsinki’s Department of Physics and as a systems analyst at Nokia Telecommunications.

Janne Kanner

(b. 1973) MSc., Director, Services for Data Management, in CSC’s service since 1999
+358 50 381 9535

Kanner has worked at CSC in various expert and manager roles and, since 2004, as director in positions including technology director and director responsible for business in different segments.

He has previously worked in trainee and expert positions at Vapo Oy and University of Jyväskylä.

Teemu Kiviniemi

(b. 1981) MSc. (Tech.), Director, Shared ICT Solutions, in CSC’s service since 2008.
+358 9 457 2132

Kiviniemi has previously worked in managerial and specialist positions at CSC. Before joining CSC, he has worked as a programming course head assistant in Helsinki University of Technology, and in system administration tasks at Ivalon Foto-Kone Ky and at Inari municipality.

Key concurrent positions of trust:

Finnish Communication and Internet Exchange – FICIX ry; member of the board 2015-2016, chairman of the board 2017-2018

NORDUnet A/S; deputy member of the board 2015-2018

Irina Kupiainen

(b.1974), M.Soc.Sc, Director, Public Affairs, in CSC’s service since 2012.
+358 9 457 2375

Kupiainen has worked at CSC in specialist, managerial and director positions. Previously she has worked in various specialist, policy advisory and communications positions in the Defence ministry, Permanent delegation of Finland to the OSCE, Parliament and Helsinki University Student Union.


Damien Lecarpentier

(b. 1978) PhD, Director, International Collaborations & Partnerships. In CSC’s service since 2009.

Lecarpentier has held various positions at CSC related to international collaboration in the area of advanced computing, data management and e-Infrastructure developments.

Key concurrent positions of trust: Member of Eudat Ltd Board directors, Member of EOSC AISBL, Member of Gaia-X AISBL.

Kimmo Niittuaho

(b. 1966) MSc. (Econ.), CFO; in CSC´s service since 2003
+358 9 457 2287

Niittuaho has previously worked in financial administration, e.g. Pirelli Oy and Oy LM Ericsson Ab.

Key concurrent positions of trust: Eudat Ltd Member of the Board directors

Hanna-Mari Puuska

(b. 1979), PhD, Director, Services for Information Management and Data Analytics
in CSC's service since 2010
+358 9 457 2959

Puuska has previously worked at CSC in managerial and specialist roles.
Before joining CSC, she has worked as a researcher in Tampere University.

Key concurrent positions of trust: Finnish Publication Forum Steering Group member, euroCRIS Board member, FSD Advisory Board member, National Research Information Hub Steering Group member.


Mari Walls

(b. 1961), PhD, Professor, Director, Research Organization Collaboration and Academic Partnerships. In CSC’s service since 2023.
+358 9 457 3074

Walls is responsible for developing CSC research organization collaboration and academic partnerships. Walls has previously worked in strategic change management positions, such as the first President of the new Tampere University and as President and CEO of the Natural Resources Institute Finland, as well as in research management positions e.g. in University of Turku and Academy of Finland.  

Key concurrent positions of trust:
Executive Committee Member of the European University Association EUA, Chairman of the Board of the Finnish Meteorological Institute, Board Member of Occupational Pension Company Varma, Supervisory Board Member of the Finnish Cultural Foundation.

Per Öster

(b. 1959) PhD, Director, Advanced Computing Facility; in CSC’s service since 2007.
+358 9 457 2939

Öster has previously worked in managerial and directorial positions at the KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, in consultant and specialist positions at Volvo Data AB, and as a researcher at the Chalmers University of Technology and University of Gothenburg.

Key concurrent positions of trust: EUDAT Ltd Chair of Board of directors, ELIXIR Board member, EOSC AISBL General Assembly member and NORDUnet A/S board deputy member.

Tomasz Malkiewicz

(b. 1980) PhD, Senior Application Specialist, personnel representative

Malkiewicz has worked for CSC in project manager and specialist positions since 2011. He has previously worked as a researcher at LPSC in Grenoble, France and at the University of Jyväskylä.